Mass of the Epiphany

Mass of the Epiphany is a striking work which, rather than setting the Ordinary of the Mass (Kyrie, Gloria etc), sets the Propers for the Feast of the Epiphany along with the Epistle set for that day. At the centre of Mass of the Epiphany is Robert Hugill's The Magi, a setting of Lancelot Andrewes 1622 Sermon on the Nativity, the work which inspired T. S. Eliot's poem Journey of the Magi.

In addition to The Magi, which forms the Sermon, Mass of the Epiphany consists of settings of the Latin Propers - Introit, Gradual, Alleluia, Offertory, Communion, plus the Latin Epistle (Surge, illuminare), the Offertory Motet Videte Miraculum, the closing Marian anthem Alma Redemptoris.

Videte Miraculum was premiered by Alistair Dixon and the Chapelle du Roi at St. John's Smith Square, London in December 2009 and The Magi was premiered by Malcolm Cottle and London Concord Singers at the Grosvenor Chapel, London in December 2010.

Robert Hugill's Videte Miraculum soared too, especially at its ending, with the three sopranos perched at a perilous altitude (to their credit, they never wavered). Ivan Hewett - Daily Telegraph

002500Mass of the Epiphany - complete50'L
Introit, Epistle (Surge, Illuminare), Gradual, Allelua, Sermon (The Magi), Offertory, Offertory Motet (Videte Miraculum), Communion, Recessional (Alma Redemptoris Mater)
Individual movements
002501Introit: Ecce advenit Dominator Dominus5'A
Choir: SATB, Latin text words
002502Epistle: Surge, illuminare, Jerusalem9'40C
Choir: SSAATTBB, Latin text words
002503Gradual: Omnes de Saba3'A
Choir: SATB, Latin text words
002504Alleluia: Vidimus stellam2'A
Choir: SATB, Latin text words
002505Sermon: The Magi13'E
Choir: SSAATTBB, English text words
002506Offertory: Reges Tharsis2'30A
Choir: SAATTB, Latin text words
002507Offertory Motet: Videte Miraculum6'B
Choir: SSAATTBB, Latin text words
002508Communion: Vidimus stellam4'A
Choir: SSATB, Latin text words
002509Recessional: Alma redemptoris mater4'15B
Choir: SATTB, Latin text words

For details of cost codes click here
© Copyright 2003 Spherical Editions.